ratings

Hydrostatic Head Explained

The test itself: how it is run, which standards define it, how results must be reported, why figures from different methods are not interchangeable, and why a laboratory pressure result cannot predict how a finished jacket behaves in rain.

Last updated Published By WaterproofJacket.com editorial desk

Quick answer

Hydrostatic head is the water pressure a fabric withstands before water is forced through it, expressed as the height of a water column. Under ISO 811:2018, a 100 cm² clamped fabric sample faces steadily rising pressure — at 10 or 60 cm H₂O per minute — until water penetrates in three separate places, and that pressure is the recorded result. At least five samples are tested and the mean reported. Because water temperature, pressure rate, sample condition, apparatus and which side is tested all change the outcome, and because several method families exist, a bare millimetre figure with no accompanying test conditions is a partial disclosure rather than a comparable result.

Key takeaways

  • The recorded pressure is the third point of penetration, not the first drop.
  • Two pressure rates and two water temperatures are permitted, and the standard states both change results — the higher temperature gives lower values.
  • ISO 811 tests fabric only. The regulated garment standard — now EN ISO 24232:2025, which superseded EN 343:2019 in October 2025 — reaches seams and finished garments, and treats whole-garment waterproofness as optional.
  • AATCC TM127, ASTM D751 and JIS L 1092 are separate method families; nothing we can read authorises converting between them.
  • A compliant test report contains around a dozen items; a hangtag shows one number.
Fact — published information

The measurement and its unit

Hydrostatic head expresses resistance to water penetration as a pressure, using the height of a water column as the unit. 1,000 mm of water column is the pressure exerted at the base of a one-metre column of water; 20,000 mm is a twenty-metre column.

Laboratories report results in centimetres or millibars of water. ISO 811 notes that the SI unit, the pascal, is unusual for this test. Consumer marketing uses millimetres because larger numbers read better, but the measurement is identical: 2,000 mm H₂O is the same as 200 cm H₂O.

Where standards state requirements in pascals, the conversion published alongside the EN ISO 24232 class table applies: 1,000 Pa is approximately 102 mm H₂O.

The same pressure in the units you will encounter

Water column

816 mm

Centimetres

81.6 cm

Approx. pascals

8,000 Pa

Where you see it

EN ISO 24232:2025 class 1 water-penetration requirement

Water column

1,020 mm

Centimetres

102 cm

Approx. pascals

10,000 Pa

Where you see it

Threshold above which JIS L 1092 uses its high-pressure method

Water column

1,326 mm

Centimetres

132.6 cm

Approx. pascals

13,000 Pa

Where you see it

EN ISO 24232:2025 class 3 requirement

Water column

2,040 mm

Centimetres

204 cm

Approx. pascals

20,000 Pa

Where you see it

EN ISO 24232:2025 class 4, the highest class

Water column

10,000 mm

Centimetres

1,000 cm

Approx. pascals

≈98,000 Pa

Where you see it

Common consumer rating

Water column

20,000 mm

Centimetres

2,000 cm

Approx. pascals

≈196,000 Pa

Where you see it

Common consumer rating on hardshells

Pascal and millimetre equivalents are arithmetic from the conversion published with the EN ISO 24232 class table (1,000 Pa ≈ 102 mm H₂O). Only the class requirements themselves are published values.

Fact — published information

How the ISO 811 test is run

A conditioned fabric specimen is clamped horizontally so that an area of 10,000 mm² — 100 cm² — is exposed to water pressure applied from below or from above, with the face of the fabric against the water unless another side is specified. Pressure then rises steadily while the specimen is watched continuously.

The permitted rates of increase are 10 cm H₂O per minute or 60 cm H₂O per minute. The standard states plainly that results obtained at different rates may not be the same, and that the higher rate is more applicable to fabrics with high water resistance. Water is grade 3 distilled water at either 20 °C or 27 °C, and the standard notes that the higher temperature yields lower hydrostatic head values, with the size of that effect varying between fabrics.

The result is the pressure at which water first appears at the third place in the specimen. Very fine droplets that form and do not grow are disregarded. At least five specimens are taken from different places in the fabric, avoiding creases and fold marks, and individual results plus the mean are reported.

  • Test area: 100 cm² of clamped fabric
  • Specimens: at least five, from different places in the fabric
  • Pressure rate: 10 or 60 cm H₂O/min, and which one must be reported
  • Water: grade 3 distilled water at 20 °C ±2 or 27 °C ±2
  • Result: pressure at the third point of penetration, reported individually and as a mean
Fact — published information

What a full test report contains

This is the part of the standard most worth knowing, because it shows how much context a single marketing figure omits. A compliant report states the conditioning atmosphere, the water temperature used, whether pressure was applied from below or above, the rate of pressure increase, which side of the fabric was tested if not the face, any specimen deviations, the individual and mean results, the accuracy of the manometer, whether first-drop rather than third-place penetration was reported by agreement, and the date of test.

The standard also specifies the precision with which pressure is recorded: 0.5 cm H₂O below 1 m of water, 1 cm between 1 and 2 m, and 2 cm above 2 m. Its guidance on manometer ranges for manual apparatus tops out at 2 m of water column for closely constructed fabrics — an order of magnitude below the 20 m implied by a 20,000 mm claim, which is one reason such figures come from other equipment and are hard to place against the standard's own examples.

Fact — published information

The standards you will meet, and what each covers

ISO 811:2018 defines the fabric-level hydrostatic pressure test. Its scope is explicitly fabric, and it limits its own relevance to articles subjected to water pressure for short or moderate periods.

The regulated garment standard changed identity in 2025, and this is worth stating precisely because much of the outdoor web still cites the old one. ISO published ISO 24232:2024 in October 2024 through ISO/TC 94/SC 13; its European adoption, EN ISO 24232:2025, states on its cover page that it supersedes EN 343:2019, and the CEN register records EN 343:2019 as withdrawn with effect from 22 October 2025. Reading ISO 24232's requirement clauses directly, the four waterproof classes are unchanged from the old standard — at least 8,000 Pa, then 8,000, 13,000 and 20,000 Pa after pre-treatment, with class 4 seams also tested after cleaning — and ISO 811:2018 is the normative method it uses. It also states that where specimens of one garment fall into different classes, the lowest result classifies the garment, and it carries an explicit warning that all classes can result in a restricted wearing time.

Beyond those, two further method families produce figures you will encounter. AATCC TM127 is the North American hydrostatic pressure method, performed without a restraint, with a restrained version published separately as TM208; AATCC notes its results may differ from those of its own rain and spray methods. ASTM D751 covers coated fabrics including rainwear, and its hydrostatic resistance section permits two distinct pieces of apparatus, a Mullen type tester and a rising water column tester. JIS L 1092 splits the test into a low-pressure method for materials such as waterproofed canvas and tent fabric and a high-pressure method for specimens testable at not less than 10 kPa; modern shell fabric figures come from the high-pressure route.

We should be candid about how much of this we could read. ISO 811 we have in full. For ISO 24232 the publisher's preview covers the scope, definitions and requirement clauses but stops before the test-method clauses and annexes, so the pre-treatment procedures are described here only as far as the requirement tables state them. AATCC TM127 and ASTM D751 are paywalled, and what appears above is drawn from the publishers' own scope statements and section lists — not from the procedures themselves.

What each standard actually governs

Standard

ISO 811:2018

Applies to

Fabric samples

What we verified at source

100 cm² area, at least five specimens, 10 or 60 cm H₂O/min, third-place penetration, extensive test report — full standard read

Standard

ISO 24232:2024 / EN ISO 24232:2025

Applies to

Materials, seams and finished garments

What we verified at source

Four waterproof classes using ISO 811; lowest specimen result governs; garment-level waterproofness optional — requirement clauses read, test-method clauses paywalled

Standard

AATCC TM127

Applies to

All fabric types, including treated fabrics

What we verified at source

Scope and end point: resistance to penetration under hydrostatic pressure, run without a restraint (TM208 uses one) — publisher's summary only

Standard

ASTM D751

Applies to

Coated fabrics, including rainwear

What we verified at source

Hydrostatic resistance split into Mullen type tester and rising water column procedures — publisher's section list only

Standard

JIS L 1092

Applies to

Fabric samples

What we verified at source

Low-pressure and high-pressure hydrostatic methods, the latter for specimens tested at 10 kPa or more

Consumer millimetre claims are not governed by any of these standards. Brands are free to publish a figure without naming the method behind it, and most do.

Unknown — not publicly specified

Can results from different methods be compared?

Not on the evidence available to us. None of the documents above authorises a conversion or an equivalence between method families, and AATCC states explicitly that its hydrostatic result may differ from results of its own related methods. We therefore publish no cross-method ranking, and we will not describe a figure from one method as better than a lower figure from another.

The obstacle is not only which standard was used. Within ISO 811 alone, two pressure rates are permitted and the standard says results at different rates may not be the same; two water temperatures are permitted and the higher one gives lower values; the side tested and whether the specimen was pre-treated change the number again. Even the apparatus varies — ASTM D751 alone allows two different testers within a single procedure family.

The practical consequence for a reader comparing two hangtags is uncomfortable but honest: unless both brands state the method and the conditions, the only defensible comparison is that both fabrics passed a test their maker chose. That is why we record a test method alongside every performance figure on this site, and print "Not publicly specified by the manufacturer" when there is none.

Analysis — our interpretation

Why a laboratory figure does not predict a jacket in rain

The test measures one variable under controlled conditions on a flat, new, clamped patch of fabric. A jacket in rain is none of those things. It has needle holes at every seam, openings at the hood, cuffs, hem and pockets, a main zip, and fabric that flexes, abrades and ages. Water arrives as droplets with almost no pressure, and the pressure that does matter is mechanical and localised — pack straps, hip belt, knees, seat.

Two other real-world factors sit entirely outside the test. The first is the outer face fabric's repellency: once it saturates, the jacket feels cold and clammy and breathes worse, which wearers routinely mistake for leaking. The second is time — most consumer figures describe new fabric, and EN ISO 24232's requirement that higher classes hold their level after pre-treatment exists precisely because performance falls with use.

This is also why some manufacturers publish no figure at all. GORE-TEX certifies finished garments against its own wet-weather requirement rather than publishing a fabric millimetre rating, and Patagonia's H2No standard is a testing programme with before-and-after thresholds — 20,000 mm initially, then a requirement to still hold 10,000 mm after simulated long-term use. Neither absence tells you a jacket is less waterproof; both tell you the brand is describing garments rather than fabric patches.

Common misconceptions

“Hydrostatic head is measured on the finished jacket.”

ISO 811's scope is fabric. Garment-level rain testing exists — EN ISO 24232's optional ISO 24231 shower test — but it is a different procedure and is not what a millimetre figure reports.

“The rating is the pressure at which the first drop appears.”

It is the pressure at the third point of penetration. First-drop reporting is permitted only by agreement and must then be stated in the report.

“Any two hydrostatic head figures can be compared.”

Rate of pressure increase, water temperature, which side was tested and whether the sample was pre-treated all change the number, and standards differ. Without those details a comparison is guesswork.

“A high figure means the jacket lasts.”

Durability is a separate question. It is why EN ISO 24232 requires higher classes to meet their threshold after abrasion, flexing and laundering, and why Patagonia publishes a post-wash threshold as well as an initial one.

Limitations of this information

  • The test covers fabric only: seams, zips, hood, cuffs and hem are outside it.
  • Two pressure rates and two water temperatures are permitted and produce different results.
  • ISO 811 states its own relevance is to short or moderate periods of water pressure, not sustained exposure.
  • Consumer figures almost never disclose the test standard or conditions, making cross-brand comparison unreliable.
  • AATCC TM127 and ASTM D751 are paywalled: what we say about them comes from the publishers' own scope statements, not from the procedures.
  • The publisher's preview of ISO 24232:2024 stops before its test-method clauses, so we describe its pre-treatments only as far as the requirement tables state them.
  • We work from the published standards and manufacturer documentation cited below; WaterproofJacket.com does not operate a testing laboratory and makes no first-hand measurement claims.

Frequently asked questions

What is a good hydrostatic head rating?

As a reference point, the highest class of EN ISO 24232:2025 requires around 2,040 mm after pre-treatment, so any consumer figure in the 10,000–20,000 mm range is well clear of the regulated benchmark. Above that level, construction and fabric condition decide whether you stay dry.

Is hydrostatic head the same as waterproof rating?

Yes — the millimetre figure marketed as a waterproof rating is a hydrostatic head result, usually for the fabric only and usually with no test standard named.

How do you convert mm to pascals?

Using the conversion published with the EN ISO 24232 class table, 1,000 Pa is approximately 102 mm of water column. So 20,000 Pa is roughly 2,040 mm, and 10,000 mm is roughly 98,000 Pa.

Why do GORE-TEX jackets have no hydrostatic head rating?

GORE-TEX publishes no hydrostatic head figure for its laminates and certifies finished garments against its own wet-weather requirement instead. It is a disclosure and certification choice, not a gap in performance.

Does washing change a jacket's hydrostatic head?

Abrasion, flexing and laundering reduce fabric performance over time, which is why EN ISO 24232 requires its higher classes to hold their threshold after pre-treatments and why Patagonia publishes a lower post-wash threshold alongside its initial test level. Correct washing itself is protective — it restores surface repellency rather than harming the barrier.

Sources

  1. ISOISO — ISO 811:2018 catalogue entry and scope— checked September 15, 2026
  2. ISOISO — ISO 811:2018 — Textiles: determination of resistance to water penetration, hydrostatic pressure test— checked September 15, 2026
  3. ÚNMS SR (Slovak Office of Standards, reproducing the CEN cover page of EN ISO 24232:2025)ÚNMS SR (Slovak Office of Standards, reproducing the CEN cover page of EN ISO 24232:2025) — STN EN ISO 24232 — Protective clothing: protection against rain (EN ISO 24232:2025 supersedes EN 343:2019)— checked September 15, 2026
  4. ISOISO — ISO 24232:2024 catalogue entry (ISO/TC 94/SC 13, published October 2024)— checked September 15, 2026
  5. ISOISO — ISO 24232:2024 — Protective clothing: protection against rain (publisher preview, clauses 1–4.6 readable)— checked September 15, 2026
  6. AATCCAATCC — TM127 Test Method for Water Resistance: Hydrostatic Pressure (publisher's scope summary)— checked September 15, 2026
  7. ASTM InternationalASTM International — ASTM D751 Standard Test Methods for Coated Fabrics (publisher's scope and section list)— checked September 15, 2026
  8. Japanese Standards AssociationJapanese Standards Association — JIS L 1092:2009 — Testing methods for water resistance of textiles (English edition, preview)— checked September 15, 2026
  9. GORE-TEXGORE-TEX — GORE-TEX technology — next generation products with ePE membrane— checked September 10, 2026
  10. PatagoniaPatagonia — H2No Performance Standard— checked September 15, 2026

Terms explained on this page

Related reading