Comparison tool
Compare Waterproof Jackets
Select two to four records. Every figure keeps the source and test method it was published with. We highlight differences but do not declare a winner, because a jacket that suits an alpine day may be the wrong choice for a commute.
ⓘ What the specification labels mean
Manufacturer published: printed by the brand on an official page or document. Independently measured: reported by a named third party. WaterproofJacket.com physically tested: measured by us from a real test record. Not published: we checked the brand's documentation and it does not publish this figure. Not researched yet: we have not checked this field yet. Not independently verified: we have seen the value but not yet confirmed it against a dated primary source.
| Status | Current | Current | Current |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research status | Research-based assessment | Research-based assessment | Research-based assessment |
| Documented price | £350 GBP (UK, checked October 15, 2026) | £350 GBP (UK, checked September 10, 2026) | £160 GBP (UK, checked October 15, 2026) |
| Layer construction | 3L | 3L | 2.5L |
| Membrane | GORE-TEX ePE (70-denier, 3-layer) | 3L 80d GORE-TEX ePE (expanded polyethylene) membrane with C-KNIT backer, FC0 DWR | Pertex Shield, 2.5-layer construction |
| Waterproof figure | Not published by the manufacturer | Not published by the manufacturer | 20,000 mm hydrostatic head |
| Breathability figure | Not published by the manufacturer | Not published by the manufacturer | 20,000 g/m²/24 hrs (MVTR) |
| Published weight | 520 g (18.3 oz) | 375 g (13.2 oz) | 352.5 g (12.4 oz)Not directly comparable |
| Face-fabric denier | 70D | 80 denier | 40D |
| Ventilation | Yes — 2-way YKK AquaGuard pit zips | No pit zips are listed; by contrast the Beta SL page lists pit zippers | Yes — underarm vents |
| Hood | Mountain HC Hood, fully adjustable, peaked | Adjustable low profile StormHood; single pull adjuster does not restrict vision | Adjustable hood with a robust peak |
| Helmet compatible | Yes — helmet-compatible | Not published by the manufacturer | Not published by the manufacturer |
| Pockets | 3 pockets with YKK AquaGuard zips | Two hand pockets | Two A-line pockets |
| Packability | Not independently verified | Not independently verified | Not independently verified |
| Warranty | Guaranteed to the original purchaser against defects in components, materials and workmanship for the reasonable life of the product | Limited warranty against non-conformance with material and workmanship specifications for the "practical product lifespan", which Arc'teryx states "does not mean for your lifetime" | Not researched yet |
| Repair programme | Not researched yet | ReBIRD Repair programme | Not researched yet |
| PFAS wording | Not published by the manufacturer | "free from intentionally added PFAS"; fabric treatment listed as "FC0-DWR" | Rab's Material Facts table lists "No" in its PFAS column for every component; Rab defines that as "phased out all intentionally added PFAS from the corresponding component". |
| Primary use | Mountaineering | Hiking | Hiking |
| Strengths | Helmet-compatible hood, two-way pit zips and harness-accessible pockets all stated by ME; 3-layer construction with a 70D face fabric; Lifetime-of-product guarantee wording and published care instructions | Three-layer GORE-TEX ePE construction with a C-KNIT backer against the skin; 80-denier face fabric, heavier than most all-round rain shells; Repair route through Arc'teryx's own programme | Numeric hydrostatic head and MVTR published (20,000 mm / 20,000 g/m²/24 hrs), unlike most jackets in this database; Underarm vents and pack- and harness-accessible pockets; Weight published with the sample size (352.5 g, size M) |
| Limitations | No numeric waterproof or breathability figures published; Weighed sample size not stated, and regional pages have differed; Membrane wording inconsistent on the product page (ePE in the description, generic GORE-TEX "bicomponent membrane" text in the certification panel); UK price and availability only (checked 15 Oct 2026); No product image until usage rights are established; No PFAS statement published | No published numeric waterproof or breathability data; No pit zips, and no cuff specification published for this model; High price | No test standard named for either figure, so they cannot be compared with other brands' numbers; 2.5-layer construction: a printed inner layer rather than a laminated backer; Helmet compatibility not stated; Only the UK store was checked; other regions and prices are not recorded |
| Last verified | October 15, 2026 | September 10, 2026 | October 15, 2026 |
Where two jackets publish figures from different laboratory methods, the comparison is marked "not directly comparable" rather than ranked. Values shown as italic text are not published by the manufacturer.